Flat-cat fever

Here’s a weekend re-cap on the FM-2:

Saturday, I carefully built out the landing gear, fabricating all the missing struts, trusses and other structural stuff from .020 styrene rod. It looked darned good, if I may say so myself. Then, I tried to fit it into the wheel bay – which it wouldn’t go into. It was too big longitudinally. So, I broke off the forward truss and its supports and glued in the gear, mounting it with CA glue on the front and back of the keel (the gear is attached to the external fuselage, in other words). I’ll stick the other bits in with tweezers after playing several games of “Operation” to build up my skills for such a fiddly bit of work

I also shot a 75-30 mix of lacquer thinner and Testors Dullcote over the model. I was worried that some of the odd, blotchy surface characteristics present in the gloss coat would show up – nope. They’re gone. The model looks unified in its surface appearance. I’ve toyed with the idea of adding a satin coat or even a bit of Metallizer sealer to bring back a bit of shine – I’ll try it on the lower wing first. With the gear installed and the model flat-coated, it finally looks like something I’ll be happy with.

So, here’s what’s left in the order in which I’ll tackle it:

  • Landing gear
  • Tail wheel
  • Pitot boom
  • Antenna mast
  • Propeller
  • Weathering
  • Canopy
  • Signal lights
  • Wing lights
  • Tail light
  • Machine gun barrels
  • Aerial

This seems do-able… Photos will be up soon. I used our new camera (thanks for the recommendation, John Heck), so I have to learn to transfer images. Just you wait. Because you’ll have to.

1 Comment

  1. Chris,

    What camera are you using now?
    David


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

