Back after too long…

Sorry for the hiatus – a combination of events kept me away from the blog and I greatly apologize, although some of the reasons are very good. First up was the fact that my trusty Mac decided to not be so trusty, blowing its logic board. What that says about the way I use the Mac, I do not know, but suffice it to say it turned a $2000 computer into a large, inaccessible thumb drive. Luckily, I backed it up regularly, so not much was lost, ultimately.

That was August. Then, on September 3, my daughter Amelia was born. Needless to say, that certainly cut into my time as well! Here she is in her airplane jammies (which sadly, she has outgrown, and which, even more sadly, don’t come in daddy sizes).

1422401_10202713652750505_1041082087_n

I also started a new job in October with Relayware. So I’ve been busy.

However, not so busy that I couldn’t do some scale modeling. I’ve finished two models since Amelia touched down; both have been documented in articles that will appear in the IPMS/USA Journal at some point, so I won’t belabor their creation stories with you.

Sparrowhawk glamour 2

Sparrowhawk glamor 4

First finished was this 1:72 F9C-2 Sparrowhawk. This came from a rather ghastly Pegasus kit, with much of it scratch-built (landing gear, skyhook, cockpit, etc.). The model is rigged with acupuncture needles – cut them to length and they stay in place with just a hint of scenic glue. It was finished on Dec. 1, in time for the contest in Sacramento. It took a second there, behind Marty Sanford’s exquisite Gloster Gladiator; Marty and I swapped spots at the Petaluma show last month, showing that it’s all subjective and that you shouldn’t take winning or losing in model contests all that seriously.

DSC_0189

DSC_0191

DSC_0193Next came this P-51D in 1:72. It’s from the Tamiya kit, with an Aires interior and wheels and the Obscureco wing with dropped flaps. If it looks familiar, it’s because you’ve seen it before – it was the plane on the cover of my Tuskegee Airmen book, as flown by Roscoe Brown when he shot down Franz Kulp flying an Me 262.

The figure is a combination of a CMK body and a head from Prieser.

And what am I working on now, you ask? A bunch of stuff, but occupying my mind the most is this B-26. A sane person would do a B-26B/C or B-26G using the exquisite Hasegawa 1:72 kits. Instead, I’m doing the B-26 (no suffix) flown by James Muri on June 4, 1942 in the attack on the Japanese carrier Akagi at Midway. The base kit is the accurate but extremely rudimentary Monogram Snap-Tite kit. I’ll be adding an interior, new engines and a scratch-built tail gun position, with aftermarket stuff from Scale Aircraft Conversions, Lone Start Models, Eduard and Quickboost – and whoever I can steal a torpedo from. I was considering pillaging one of my Hasegawa B-26s for parts, but it looks like I won’t have to.

The nice part about a Snap-Tite kit is that you can kid yourself that you’re farther along than you actually are:

DSC_0336

Look at that! The airframe’s all together! (There’s nothing inside, but I do know the various bits fit, which is nice to know.)

So expect more stuff about the 362nd FG, the 4th FG, the 357th FG, the 332nd FG and all the other ridiculous stuff I’m researching, building or writing about. Thanks for putting up with my absence – I’ll try not to be away so long again!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

